Premiere: Friske – Untitled Piano (Metalheadz)

“Untitled Piano” is taken from the forthcoming debut album by Friske, titled “A Different Perspective” the LP is released on Metalheadz on 26th June 2020.

The album features 16 tracks covering both light and dark elements in equal measure, a beautiful balance of rough and smooth. “Untitled Piano” is reminiscent of the original Good Looking style, reminding me of PFM’s “The Mystics” with its cosmic sounds, rolling drums and elegant flourishes.

“A Different Perspective” highlights the distinctive sound and production approach of Friske, often otherwordly and scientific yet still ripe for the dancefloor. A style firmly rooted in hip hop, the LP draws influence from classic drum breaks and samples from the iconic graffiti documentary “Style Wars”, resulting in a perfect blend of sci-fi and B-Boy culture.

“A Different Perspective” is available to pre-order now direct from the Metalheadz Bandcamp and store.


Friske – A Different Perspective

Two Hungry Ghosts Chart (June 2020)

Two Hungry Ghosts June Chart (June 2020)

Uplifting and Retro

Foul Play – Remasters (Sneaker Social)
Various Artists – Faces Volume 1 (Killer Smile)
Luke Vibert Presents – Modern Rave (Hypercolour)
Lynch Kinglsey – Crows (The Dreamers)
Coco Bryce – My Girl (7th Storey Projects)
D’TCH – No Good EP (Thr Dreamers)
Carter and Calculon – Youth Riot (Shoot Recordings)
RTR – Reward [Om Unit Remix] (???)
BSN Posse Featuring Jon1st – Burnin Shoes (Defrostatica Records)
Peven Everett – Stuck [Sinistarr 155 Flip] (???)

Dark and Murky

Friske – Rebel Force (Metalheadz)
Eusebia – Full Circle (???)
Antagonist – Gate9 (Ronin Ordinance)
Overlook – All Of Them Witches [Clarity Remix] (UVB-76)
Mahakala – Tomahawk VIP (Mahakala)
DreamSkape Featuring Ill Truth – Underdog (Lockdown)
Lynch Kingsley – Death Cycles (Inperspective)
Acid_Lab – Secret Weapon (AGN7)
Malign – Heathen/Hierarchy (Paragon Productions)
Kit Curse And Dreadmaul – Istanbul (Onset Audio)

Compiled by Dave Sector