Exclusive Premiere: Thing – Link To The Past (Repertoire)

Estonia’s Thing joins Repertoire with his take on the contemporary jungle sound on his forthcoming “Lack of Diversity EP”.

Somewhat ironically titled the release covers a broad spectrum of drum and bass styles centered around classic 90’s breaks. “Link To The Past” begins with gentle percussion and natural sounds before an encyclopedia of legendary breaks are unleashed. Organic sounds are soon replaced with twisted mentasms and drum filters before returning for a delicate breakdown complimented with drifting pads. The breaks soon return for a powerful second section with yet more intricate chops and edits.

The EP is released on November 2nd available from the Repertoire Bandcamp.

Buy: Repertoire

Exclusive Premiere: Sicknote – Rough Coast (Stereocilia)

Exclusive Premiere of “Rough Coast” by Sicknote from the first release on his new label Stereocilia.

Heavily influenced by the mid-nineties progressive drum and bass movement “Rough Coast” combines the beauty of Good Looking and the dark complexity of Metalheadz.

The track opens with wave samples and soaring chords creating a serene sundrenched atmosphere before the calmness is then broken by beats that arrive, twist then filter away before returning with venom backed with an army of Reese basslines and piercing stabs.

Exclusive to the Clashmouth independent drum and bass label market in November this will be available as a highly limited lathe cut vinyl release backed with “Trouble” featuring Escher.

Influences “Quartz” Metalheadz

To celebrate the release of the “Hall Of Mirrors EP” by Quartz we asked the artist for a rundown of some influential tracks that have helped shape his distinctive form of drum and bass. Drawing inspiration from warped hip hop, subtle piano compositions and Metalheadz label boss Goldie this diverse selection demonstrate its melody, tone and texture that drive the Quartz sound.

Flying Lotus Featuring DOOM – Masquatch

“Something I never get tired of listening to. DOOM is on a tripped out vibe and the beat, IMO, is 10/10. Detuned, stripped and unexpected. If I need a boost of inspiration this is a go too.”

The Haxan Cloak – Excavation (Part 1)

“This tune takes me to another dimension, lost count of how many times I’ve listened to this. Mad Imagery. The whole album is so on point. Salute to HXC.”

Instra:mental – Rogue

“I still have my original copy of this somewhere. Played it to death. Ticks all the boxes for me. Crunchy.”

Trance Frendz — An Evening With Ólafur Arnalds And Nils Frahm

“This album is superb. Spent many evening with this album on loop. One to chill with and put you in a good mood.”

Rufige Kru – Beachdrifta

“One of those. Don’t really need to say anything else. Has to be in my top 2/3 Headz tunes.”

Yussef Kamaal – Joint 17

“Gave an extra because I’m in a good mood. This whole LP has been my number #1 album for the last 2 years. Absolute heat.”

Buy Link: Quartz – “Hall Of Mirrors EP”

THG X Noods Radio (October 2018)

60 minutes of Dark and Experimental Drum and Bass featuring forthcoming releases on Metalheadz, MJAZZ, Seventh Storey, Next Phase and a track from the forthcoming Fearless LP on Diffrent.

Two Hungry Ghosts – Noods (October 2018)

DYL – Space Programe (Alphacut)
Sonar’s Ghost – The Vernacular (Unreleased)
Quartz – Ghastly (Forthcoming Metalheadz)
Jubei And Tyrone – Stabs (Metalheadz)
Holsten – Abscess (DROOGS)
Fanu – Recharge (Forthcoming Metalheadz)
Mahakala – The Exodus (Not On Label)
Justice And Metro – Navigator (Forthcoming MJAZZ)
Fearful And Arkaik [Featuring Codebreaker] – Evangelist (Forthcoming Diffrent)
Justice – In The Beginning (Forthcoming MJAZZ)
JunglisMonk – Dark Dolla (Modified Magic)
Sicknote, Dissect And Justice – Swiftly (Forthcoming MJAZZ)
Fushara – Memories (Forthcoming Seventh Storey Productions)
Okee – Them Solutions (Forthcoming Next Phase Records)
2 Bad Mice – Hold It Down [Justice And Metro Remix] (MJAZZ)

Broadcast on Noods Radio 18/10/18 hosted by Dave Sector.

Exclusive Premiere: Yoofee – Clart (Through These Eyes)

“Clart” by Yoofee is taken from the “Visualize EP” on Through These Eyes, a Berlin-based record label specialising in bass-heavy electronics.

Vinyl only and limited to 300 copies this hand stamped white label features four tracks designed for high energy dance floors.

Incorporating a dynamic range of modern styles injected with a healthy dose of nostalgia this collection of tracks represents the vision of the label perfectly. A landmark release for Through These Eyes and an exciting glimpse into Yoofee, an artist that is as comfortable performing in a jazz band as he is chopping breakbeats.

The “Visualize EP” also contains a high octane remix by IOTA and the sublime melodies of ambient fused “Blue”. An accomplished release that will appeal to both cosmic stargazers and jungle diehards.

Buy: Through These Eyes

Exclusive Premiere: A.Fruit Featuring D.E – Gonman (TMSV Remix)

The seventh release on Rua Sound sees the label deliver a further four heavyweight excursions into left field dance music.

A multi-artist EP this collection highlights the far-reaching influence of modern jungle containing contributions from across the globe and from both female and male musicians. This rich diversity shines through track by track as each producer adds their own unique style to the EP whilst remaining unified in their passion for bass culture and low-end frequencies.

Electronic hip hop and dance hall elements feature throughout adding a layer of depth and character that create a vibrant amalgamation of UK Bass styles.

On this track Cosmic Bridge producer and DJ edit champion TMSV remixes “Gonman” to devastating effect. Opening with an infectious melody it’s not long before a slew of kicks, bass and sirens take the tune into the darkest corners of the digital dancehall. The rugged vocals of D.E adding to the murky tone and atmosphere.

Buy: Rua Sound

Two Hungry Ghosts Chart (October 2018)

Two Hungry Ghosts Chart (October 2018)

Dead Man’s Chest – Lo-Freq Soul (Forthcoming Foundation X)
Quartz And Gremlinz – Oblong Druid (Forthcoming Metalheadz)
J Majik And Sense – Originate (Infrared Records)
Dust E 1 – Sun Dials (Lobster Theremin)
Yoofee – Clart (Forthcoming Through These Eyes)
Law And Kola Nut – Out Of Fokus (Sonic Force)
Fushara – Angles (Forthcoming 7th Storey)
Dr S Gatchet – Remember The Roller [Necrotype Remix] (Unofficial)
Response And Pilskin – Middle Class Cocktail Stick (Forthcoming Western Lore)
Commix – Cherry (Metalheadz)

Compiled by Dave Sector